1st knockdown karate tournee

need help getting ready for my 1st knock down karate tournament, http://www.uskyokushin.com/tournament.htm

I will be fighting the semi-contact black/brown belt division.

I started training with these guys about a month ago, I only go to there fighter's class.

I have over 2 years of thai-boxing training, and some boxing.

In class I hold my own, and give the brown and black belt a hard time.

But I find the set up different, since I can't punch, to the head or face, and you can't clinch to set up me knees,

Does anyone have any Knockdown karate advice you can give me.

On thing I've been caught with several times is the Axe Kick. When I am in giving body shots, and thai kick.

I am 5'4" 138 lbs, so lot of the guys I am fighting are taller than me.

I have great hand speed, and good thigh kick.

thanks
zeerebel

mong@zeerebel.com

when they start punching you in the chest, kick thier lead leg out from underneath them.you can use your lead leg and sort of kick/sweep around thier lead ankle, or use your rear leg and kcik the shit out of the outside of thier lead calf.

I relied on my thigh kicks too much. since most of my opponent or at least 3" taller, some of them get frustrated, but the really flexible fighters throw axe kicks like crazy.

K1 Francios Fihlo's Type of Kicks follow with Axe kicks

Thanks for the advice.

knock down karate is a real war of attrition. Conditioning is the key, as you will have to fight alot of rounds most likely.
You might want to do some training where you go intensly 15mins and then relax, cooldown for a while and go again as this is the conditions you will face in the tournament.

That's awesome advice bro,

any others.

I have 2 weeks left to train. I am going to take my conditioning higher, laterly I have been busy, just got married, moved into a small new town. Got a low paying manual labour job.

I am planning to take 1 day off from work to rest my body before the day of the event.