a few stock Q's

I plan on getting an e-trade account and have a few q's.

If the stock I purchase has dividends and the option to buy more stock with the dividends or take the cash, how does an online trader work? how do i get to choose?

im new to online trading.......

thanks for any info about online accounts, im thinking e-trade because of the 50 free trades offer.......

also why does a company split their stock and how can you as an investor research a company to have an idea on when that company will split the stock? thanks.

On splits: there's really no fincancial reason to do it. It's a mind trick...if a single share gets too expensive, the company splits the stock thereby (theoretically) increasing the stock volatility. Warren Buffet does not agree, thus Berkshire has never split.

There's no way to predict that a company will split it's stock, unless they always do it in a predictable manner, like always splitting when it hits $60 for example. In any case, splits are announced way before the event.

On the reinvested dividends when you invest online, usually they have
a check box option when you buy the stock for this. Very simple.

Unless you plan on trading alot, jumping in and out and all that, the 50
free trades won't make much of a difference in the long run. Choose a
trading company that offers good service. I used to go with the small
guys because their commission fees were low, but I never did trade
that often. And those companies would get bought up or merge with
another one and I found it annoying to get used to a different
interface, not to mention a bit of anxiety that they might screw up my
account. Not to mention that they might not carry as many mutual
funds.

Once CharlesSchwab's fees went below $20 per trade I switched to
them and am much happier because the interface makes more sense,
there's alot more research help, their phone customer service is great,
and they're big enough that they carry probably more mutual funds