aikido for seld defense

Is aikido a pretty good form of self defense? What about some sort of hand to hand combat? Let me know what you guys think I'm comtemplating taking lessons in aikido.

Not trolling very serious.

o ka ma.

Im no expert but if your going for self defense(i use that term loosly) I would look more for a mma gym(bjj/thai/boxing) What state do you live in? Check the state forums and see if people in your state can recommend a place. If a straight blast gym is near you go try it out. Its how you train and not what you train in when it comes to self defense.

In my opinion, if you were already a dynamite fighter, with good stand up and ground, and a lot of experience, you could start to study aikido and get pretty good with it. I bet you could even win fights, and maybe even beat up multiple attackers using strictly aikido techniques.

However, if all you know is aikido you are most likely going to get stomped against a random person on the street.

Get a gun. why pull out a mans eyes or heart when you can just blow his head off.

PeteRose'sbookie is so very correct.

Aikido is just too deadly for the UFC.

Let me put this in perspective. When I went to work at Crater Lake for the first time I linked up with a dude there that became my sparring partner. He had 6 years of aikido and 4 years of kung fu training. I had 1 year of wrestling and about 2 years combined of Budo and Taekwondo.

I dominated him in every aspect.

I was about 40 pounds heavier than him though.

"In my opinion, if you were already a dynamite fighter, with good stand up and ground, and a lot of experience, you could start to study aikido and get pretty good with it."

I might be wrong but i do believe you just described the founders of aikido.

Aikido has some good points. Blending is a usable skill, however I would not recommend it as a stand allow self defense art.