Aikido Truthful Experience?

Maybe I should ask this in the main forum...I dont know....I studied aiki jitsu in high school. I was young and in reflection I think my instructor was a bit of a joke....but now Ive been involved in grappling arts for the last few years (bjj, judo, wrestling, sambo) I love anything that has to do with grappling.

What I remember from 3 years of hard aikijitsu study was some descent self defense techniques but a lot of let your partner do it to you and go with the flow leading techniques. We never sparred! We couldnt do the moves on each other like that....it would tear your arm out of joint...ect...we were told.

So my love of grappling has me reviewing Aikido history too. I watch old videos of aikidos founder and others, and I see what I still believe are students going through prearranged techniques. Seagals Path Beyond Thought video was the first time Ive ever seen Aikido students do a type of sparring drill...and even I thought that they had limited styles of prearranged attacks....and Seagal isnt traditional in his teaching...he gears it for the street.

So to sum it all up....has "anybody" here actually been tossed around by an aikido guy. Not as an aikido student. In a sparring or fighting mode? Thanks in advance.....

I would like to hear any "real" stories as well, I used to do aikido but it
was all prearranged, I've never actually seen it applied in a
spontaneous sparring or street situation though.

A guy I worked with who studied Yoshinkan for over a decade used to be a bouncer (5'4 little chinese guy in a redneck bar) and KOed a guy with a shihonage. A friend of mine studied aikido for over 7 years in Japan. He got in a confrontation with a US soldier over there and broke the guy's arm.