Any 1X/Week Blue Belts?

I'm a white belt, about half way to blue, I would guess. My current schedule allows me to go to class consistently one time per week, occasionally twice per week. I work out on the side 2 - 3 times per week.

I'm curious if anyone has gotten their blue belt training mostly once per week. If so, how long did it take? What things did you do the rest of the week to supplement your one training?

Thanks for any info!

Consistency is the key! You are making progress and I do think you will get there.

- Kyle

grapple when ever you get the chance, whether its with friends, class mates, uncle, father it dont matter. Practice is key.

I have also found ALOT of help with tapes. I personaly love Bolos stuff at www.jenbjj.com , very good to learn proper technique and keep sharp.

Good luck buddy you'll get there

I was a once a week student for awhile. It took me a little under a year to reach blue at that rate. Thankfully I train more often now.

I did make it a point to train outside of class whenever I could, it really helps a lot.

Just be consistant and you'll get there. Best of luck.

sounds like you are looking in the 1 1/2 - 2 year range. That would be my guess.

I got my blue under a Machado affiliate doing one class a week, about two hours of rolling with friends as well, and a lot of solo drilling. Would have done more classes, but the school also did standup so there were not more available.

Took me a bit over three years.

it will take you about 3 yrs. i got mine in 1.5 going 3 times a week. i also competed alot and won so i don't know how that weighed in back then.

We have 2 new Blue Belt at our school. They trained between 3-4 times a week, for 2.5-3 hours a session. They also compated between 6-9 times last year.

That being said, it took them just about 1 year to get their Blue (they started about the same time). Not bad considering the time they put in and their natural ability.

Dustin