Anyone a CNC Machinist?

I was thinking about going to the local CC for a two year associate degree in CNC Machine Tool Technology. I've worked for a long time in an office and I have a Bachelors of Science in Business Administration. Honestly I am tired of waking up early as shit, putting on a monkey suit and doing the whole Office Space thing.

I'm interested in a CNC career because the pay is decent. Also the hours are better for me, I'm a night owl, I always have been. I would rather start at 3pm or midnight than have to wake up at 6:30am. I also would like a focused and specialized career. The place I work now has me doing lots of varied tasks that anyone could do with a small amount of training. I feel that my bachelors degree was just a sampling of many different career types. I took classes in Finance, Accounting, Logistics, Human Resources etc. etc. The problem is that I didn't have a focus and I regret that now.

Anyways none of that matters I guess. Just wanted to let you all know that I am 31 and not sure what to do with myself. Am I too old to get into manufacturing? The area I am in (Twin Cities) seems to have a good amount of CNC job listings.

I guess I am just looking for advice. Any OGers with CNC experience? What is the work like?

I've been a cnc machinist for 10 years. It's a cool job with alot of good things to say about it. I enjoy ending my day with a stack of parts to show what I've accomplished. There is seemingly no limit to how much you can learn which keeps it interesting long term. The pay is decent. You'll find that you often have plety of time to og on the clock.

On the other side there is the fact that everything is sharp in a achine shop.
You'll be going home with tiny obnoxious cuts on your hands most days. You'll discover the joy of cleaning out sump tanks. Filthy becomes a normal state of affairs. And in the end the pay is never wonderful, just good. Phone Post 3.0