Anyone have a Traeger Pellet Grill?

Researching pellet grills for my dad and I have no experience with them. Anyone have one and tell me if they are worth it?

Used one numerous times and hated it. Go gas or charcoal man he will like it better

Very very hard to get hot man. Seemed to take forever.

If you are going to use a gas grill you might as well use the microwave

Pellet grills suck imo. I have 8 grills. All of them are charcoal. I'd buy a pellet grill before gas tho.

Gas grills are for lazy fat dudes.

It depends on what you're going to use it for. If you want to smoke meat, which is usually done for long periods of time at very low temps, than they work really well. They are great for keeping low temps evenly for hours without having to constantly check the grill and add more charcoal. 

If you're trying to do steals and shit, which requires higher temps for shorter periods of time, they're not that great. They're great for smoking and not great for general grilling like dogs, burgers, steaks, and shit like that. 

A_Butler - 

It depends on what you're going to use it for. If you want to smoke meat, which is usually done for long periods of time at very low temps, than they work really well. They are great for keeping low temps evenly for hours without having to constantly check the grill and add more charcoal. 

If you're trying to do steals and shit, which requires higher temps for shorter periods of time, they're not that great. They're great for smoking and not great for general grilling like dogs, burgers, steaks, and shit like that. 

From a lot of what I read in research, they can't impart nearly the amount of smoke a charcoal or kamodo grill can.  It's basically an oven with the ability to add a "little" bit of smoke.

Thanks everyone. I was thinking the responses would be like this. I think I am going suggest he gets a Big Green Egg or something similar.