Anyone here do Nondestructive Testing?

thinking about jumping into this field. anyone have any experience?

What are we talking about here? Testing for coatings? Metals?. X-Ray testing of welds? Yes I've dabbled in them all. It's a lucrative business and for the very little amount of training you need to perform the test it is worth it to your pocket. You won't have the background to necessarily determine cause and effect of structural deficiency but it gets your foot in the door. Phone Post 3.0

^^so is that what you do now? work on cause and effect?

i was just wondering what the work was like, hours and such. how long you're away from home, etc.

usually if someone tells you "it's a great job for a single guy..." it really means: the hours are fucking miserable and it's a great job for nobody, regardless of pay.

It depends on what type of testing you want to do? Non-destructive testing covers a wide range of practices and materials. My background is in corrosion engineering and as such I perform a plethora of different test to determine failure rates and to implement designs to stop or mitigate those failures. I currently work for a consultant firm that deals primarily with corrosion on structures. Whether that structure is a bridge, pipeline, concrete, dock shoring or off shore rigging eventually it will fail. It's the life cycle of corrosion and in such all metal structures eventually corrode and fail. Phone Post 3.0

so where did you pick up the training?

i'm looking at a place that does a 4 month course that gets you a lvl 1 entry position