Archery and Bow Hunting, TME

I'm moving back to Wisconsin from Hawaii next month and I am thinking about getting into Archery/Bow Hunting but I am a complete noob when it comes to anything related to the subject.

Rather than going to Gander Mountain or Cabela's and looking like a total tard, I'll do it here because the OG is a wealth of knowledge on most subjects.

So yeah, where do I begin? Phone Post 3.0

You kill things with sharp sticks. Phone Post 3.0

MegaCholo2000 - You kill things with sharp sticks. Phone Post 3.0
This the the kind of valuable insight that makes the OG...special. Phone Post 3.0

Sub for OG knowledge Phone Post 3.0

I only have a 12lb bow which is pretty much for a 12 year old. Definitely want to learn more. Phone Post

Check out archerytalk.com. I have learned a lot from their boards. Phone Post 3.0

Longtime bow hunter/ competitive archer here, one thing I suggest is getting the absolute best setup you can AFFORD. Not always best money can buy as new archery equipment (bows, sights Ect.) drop off substantially after purchase. Few small tips that work for me, doesn't mean they work for everyone.

Buy a good bow: I don't know that there are really "bad" bows anymore but def some that stand out from the pack, a 2-3 year old Matthews archery or bowtech bow will shoot like a dream and be reasonably priced. Get something with good brace height, and for starting out the shorter axle to axle bows I would avoid as they are less forgiving to shoot, stay above 34 inches axle to axle and you should be good

Get good sights- if you are going to splurge on a item I would say get the most highly reviewed sight on the market that you can afford, I like single pin adjustables but there are some great multiple pin sights now that are visible in lower light