Atheist Rant

Unlike you I have no personal experience of God. I have never encountered anything supernatural, only the natural. All I have is your claim about God. I have not only your claim to consider, but if I'm to be fair, there are many other religions and thousands of other supernatural claims as well.

I think we would both agree that it is clear mankind has a propensity to make mistakes, to believe fervently in many things that turn out to be wrong, including a vast number of supernatural deities and superstitions that both you and I consider dubious. History is packed to bursting with supernatural beliefs that have been supplanted by naturalistic explanations, once we gained more knowledge.

And people don't just make these mistakes historically; psychology and other human studies tell us it's still part of the human condition to create and hold erroneous beliefs.

So given that we would both agree that there are many mistaken claims for the supernatural, and given that the conviction of a believer is no indicator of the truth of his claim, and given that I have no evidence of the supernatural, and that you cannot present any evidence of the supernatural beyond your conviction (or beyond an ancient book), is it not reasonable on my part to hold some skepticism when presented with your beliefs?

- Prof (iidb.org)

Not my words, I wish they were. I thought this might be appreciated here. I've been stewing for days thinking about Rev john's post on the OG on saturday or sunday, and thought perhaps this articulates my position far better than I may have portrayed there.

I have no idea what Rev. John posted this weekend, and don't have time to review all of the threads.

But your post was very interesting. I myself, am a very solid believer in The Creator (GOD ... whatever name you want to use). But I do truly see where many atheist & agnostic people get their views.