Atkins- Chloesterol after 1 year

Hi all,

I've been doing a moderate version of the Atkins diet for about the last 14 months. I thought I'd post my cholesterol scores(before and after) and hopefully get some opinions from our resident experts.

I am 30 years old, 5'11'', and about 175 lbs.

First set of scores taken on 7/22/02

Total- 152

Tryilycerides- 116

HDL- 29

LDL- 100

Excercise levels prior to both tests were about identical, btw. Here's the next set taken about one month ago after 14 months of being on a moderate form of the Atkin's diet:

Total- 186

Triglicerides- 72:)

HDL- 43:)

LDL- 129 :(

Given those scores, would you say my cholesterol levels are overall better, worse, or about the same? Any advice? Should I quit? The diet has helped keep me lean where before I would have a little bit of a belly.

Shit! I mispelled cholesterol in my title. ARRRRG!!! What a dumbass.

Overall I'd say that's a plus, but thats just from a lab monkey's POV.

Much worse, the major goal is ldl and you have a major increase in it. some are better, like hdl and tri, but a 30% increase in ldl is very bad.

heh, OK forget I said anything.

"Much worse, the major goal is ldl and you have a major increase in it. some are better, like hdl and tri, but a 30% increase in ldl is very bad."

I don't remember where I saw it, but I read that the correlation between heart disease and low HDL was becoming more prominent than the correlation between high LDL and heart disease. Is this BS?

No, it is true. I do not do cardiology anymore, and I agree that the hdl is improved, but I know that the mjor target of treating cholesterol is ldl so my interpretation is probably correct. I would defer to a cardiologist or endocrinoligist on this but I think overall I would prefer the first set of numbers. But hell, I have been wrong before

"heh, OK forget I said anything."

I take it howardo has some credibility here. Sorry, I don't know who the all-stars are.