Attended my first BJJ class tonight!

It was very exciting to say the least. I spent about an hour there and was amazed by how the smallest movements make such a tremendous impact. I have no MA background but consider myself athlectic. I am going back tomorrow for the last class of the year and start my new years off right.

I will be doing both Gi and No Gi class just to get a chance to soak up 4 classes a week, I have searched the interwebz all night and have a few ideas but I wanted to know if anyone could give some advise on the following:

1) Good rash guard, Burned the elbows tonight and somehow the top of my foot practicing take downs.

2) A good GI for under $100? I am 5"8 160 and from what I read I am a A-2 for most sellers.

Thank you for any help!

1) The best rash guards out there are made by Rupture:
http://www.ruptureclothing.com/
but really, any compression shirt (Nike, Underarmour, no-name) will do for now and you shouldn't need to spend more than $25 on one if you don't want to.

2) Go with the HCK unbleached Standard Single will run you $95 and will last for YEARS... Howard is a great guy too and posts here regularly. He will be more than happy to offer you advice on sizing and lets you mix & match jacket and pants sizes.
http://howardliu.com/catalog/bjj/single.htm

Welcome to the sport!

http://www.jiujitsuprogear.com/Fuji-White-Gi-p/fujigiwht.htm ... great gi for the price.

I have some manto rash guards that have held up well and are very comfortable but you could just go with one under $15 at academy or walmart and just get a couple instead of one. Your elbows and feet will eventually toughen up and not take as much of a beating. Tatami mats can be rough at first. I still have scars on the tops of my feet from when I started a couple years ago.

Tap early and often and have fun. Best of luck.

...or you could spend a bit more like he said and get one of these which are very good quality for the price....