Be careful when BJJ'ing in the..

street.

Some background info: I have been training BJJ and CSW for about 8 months now, and all of my close friends do not train in any MA, hence a lot of the time the usual scenario ensues when we are out drinking; the old 'watch out - he is an expert in kung fu!' joke. Or 'could you kill someone with one punch?' drunken question. I dont bring up training in conversation or constantly talk about Jiu-Jitsu and how great it is, but I will obviously talk about it if someone asks. One of my friends also likes to have a go at taking me out or seeing if BJJ works when we are all out, and this sometimes happens when we are really drunk.

Anyhow, we were out last night for one of my mate's birthday, we were all pretty wasted and were en route to another pub. We get out of the taxi and walk down through quite a large paved area behind most of the pubs and away from the main streets, I can't remember how/why we started grappling randomly in the street, but we did. So, as you would expect from someone who trains in jits against someone with no training, I take him down and get the mount. I then pin one of his arms with my knee and proceed to slap him around the face for a laugh.

We are all laughing and I then let him get up and we go again, although this time he takes me down. So, I swept him with a butterfly sweep and ended up taking his back and slapping on the RNC - he struggles for a while and tries to resist but then taps, we get up, and this time we are done. My friend finds his phone that he dropped and we go around the corner and in to the pub.

I was too drunk to realise it, but people starting saying 'Dude, what happened to your eye?' I was like wtf? So I go and check my eye in the mirror and I had scratched the whole side of my face and eyelid and it was starting to swell, I figure it must've been when I pulled off the sweep.