Benching w/ the Smith Machine

Not my first option. I've been working primarily with dumbbell presses, but without a spotter, I can't really work with the higher weights. I really want to start moving up to higher weights, so I'm looking at this option. My first option would be a squat rack, move a flat bench in, and have those side bars locked in so if I fail, it doesn't come crashing on me. But, sans that, it looks like my best option to do barbell bench presses is the smith.

Any tips or advice on how to actually make this thing a functional?

I'm no expert. Now that I have divulged that critical information I'll say that I don't think you can get the proper form on a smith machine. I recommend the rack or higher an immigrant as a spotter.

lol@immigrants. I was worried about the form too, because it keeps the line of the bar straight up and down, but a bench press is supposed to s-curve (path from your nipple line, then press up to eye-line).

From what I have read, going heavy on a smith machine is not ideal because of the path. Also, by benching without the smith machine you are controlling the weight in all planes of motion therefore getting a better workout even if the numbers on the weights are lower.

Unless you work out totally on your own there is always someone in the gym prepared to spot lifts. Just make sure they know what they are doing.

"Unless you work out totally on your own there is always someone in the gym prepared to spot lifts. Just make sure they know what they are doing."

That's the problem. I don't trust any of those guys to start heaving 80lbs. dumbbells for me, let alone spot me. To top it off, you start getting bad advice, then you have to counter-argue, then before you know it you've spent 20 minutes arguing, 2 minutes training...aargh.

I guess I'm off to craigslist: