Best Welder/Fabricator youve ever met, AMA

Ask any metal/welding/fabrication type questions you may have. I am also a decent carpenter so I can generally help there too. Phone Post 3.0

Is it true that you can weld the crack of dawn? Phone Post 3.0

How long should I mix JB Weld before applying? Phone Post 3.0

vu ... I shall be back here in the future op

I got a little boxbox. and make tons of retarded /awesome shit ..

TFK_SaltineAmerican - Is it true that you can weld the crack of dawn? Phone Post 3.0
Anything but the crack of dawn and a broken heart, I can fit for 4 welders or weld for 4 fitters, and if you can step across the gap I can fill it. Phone Post 3.0

MrFluffyHippo - How long should I mix JB Weld before applying? Phone Post 3.0
Just use a real 2 part gel epoxy! Better in every way, we sometimes use it on large thin sheets when affixing them because welding will often slightly warp them. Phone Post 3.0

rigpig -

vu ... I shall be back here in the future op

I got a little boxbox. and make tons of retarded /awesome shit ..

Did you mean buzzbox? Phone Post 3.0

Spool gun for a wire welder to weld aluminum, waste of money?

I know tig is the best but do spool guns and alum wire work worth a shit. Phone Post 3.0

SpecialB420 - Explain how to lay out a 45 degree rolling offset (piping) on the floor. 4 inch. No smart level.

Rise squared plus roll squared multiplied by 2, assuming youre using weld-els. It gets way more complicated if youre bending the pipe mechanically, Which obviously you wouldn't be likely to be doing with 4 inch pipe lol.

I just did a 12' one piece metal gate for a friend, using 3" x 1.5" tubing (with arched 1.5" x 1.5" across the top), 11 gauge. Buzzbox with various leftover rod (6011, 6013 and 7014). Peanut grinder was my friend, if you know what I mean. I had to do some special fabricating or the hinge, but that's another story. Here are some questions:

1) What rod would you recommend and why?