BJJ over 40 group

I was just wondering who all out there is training in
BJJ and is over 40 yr. old. I am 47 and love BJJ.
I started playing with it years ago but just in the
last 4 years got serious.

Kirik and Gordon Hester are over 40, I think

I'm in the same boat. I started training more seriously about four years ago in BJJ. I'm much younger though - 42!

42, started at 37

For those of you who began in your 30s and are now in your 40s (my situation to come), could you please share some tips on how you progress while avoiding injury and properly recouperating in between training? I find I have to be much more careful with this stuff now than the teens and twenties are :)

Roy Harris just turned 42... but, I have about a few on him... I'm going to be 49 in a few months.

Started TMA at age 21... first exposure to BJJ ten years ago... trained a couple years, then trained JKD & FMA for a number of years with very little groundwork. I trained MMA/grappling for the last couple years... but started training with a good BJJ man a few months ago, and am invigorated.

With injuries, family responsibilities, and age I do maybe one MMA/BJJ class a week and hit the weights one day also.

I limit my training and try to stretch and lift to keep my body in decent shape... if only MMA/BJJ was around 25 years ago!

-Kev

"If I knew I was going to live this long I would have taken better care of my body."

I started doing BJJ at age 40.5, got my blue under Rickson at 42, which I am now. And loving it... those young guys aren't so tough.

Whizzard thanks for thre inspiration.I was about to give up .I am 41 and got hurt mis diagnosed and that was 2 years ago still having pain and that was only my fifth class.Threads like this give me hope.