BJJ w/out strikes in self-defense

There has been a lot of talk about BJJ being the superior martial art and most useful in self-defense.  But I'd like to hear some honest thoughts about BJJ as a self-defense because it's not too often that BJJ schools teach streetfighting tactics.  Most of the time the training is for competition only and without striking. 

I am talking BJJ alone as a self-defense as opposed to MMA training.   Please discuss!

My situation is somewhat unique.

I wasn't trained in a school. I started learning BJJ in 1990 from a Brazilian kid who went to my junior high school. I learned, and he taught, for the purpose of self defense, not competition.

My BJJ has always worked well for me, one on one, on the street if I needed it.

I work in a nightclub, so the majority of any altercations I've encountered in the last few years have usually had these common factors:

• It's nothing personal. I try not to fight at all.

• I have friends and co-workers present, so I don't worry about his friend soccer kicking or stomping me if it does go to the ground.

• I usually don't strike, because, once again, it's nothing personal.

• I lock the guy up, and point out the fact that it wasn't hard for me to get him where I have him. I inform him that I don't want to fight, that I don't want to hurt him, and that I don't take it personal.

• I tell him that I'm not going to finish the fight. That I will let him up, and if the bar is still open, I'll even buy him a beer to show that there are no hard feelings.

That's how the majority have ended. Very, VERY few have turned into full blown fights.

My training always allowed me to keep a level head if I HAD to fight. It gave me the confidence I needed in most one on one situations.

But, as I've stated before, a variety of MA's may have something to offer you in self defense, aside from BJJ alone. Just keep in open mind.

Just depends on the situation. There's probably thousands of them....