Borrowing Money to Invest in Index Funds?

Please pardon my ignorance as I'm just starting out in my journey towards financial independence.

So I have been looking into and liking the idea of investing a large sum of money into an low to medium risk index fund with possibly Vanguard.

The problem is that I don't have a large sum of money. I'm at the stage where I'm paying off my debt, while working a decent job, and starting a small business on the side.

I had this idea: can I borrow money from a bank to invest in an index fund? I'm not talking about a regular personal loan. I'm talking about the concept of borrowing someone else's money to make money with. Kind of what banks do with our money.

Is there such a thing or an institution that lets regular Joe's like me to borrow for the purpose of investing in an index fund?

Please don't laugh at me. I'm curious. I am under the belief that those in the know do something along these lines. Phone Post 3.0

Depending on how much you deposit in your account, your brokerage firm might let you borrow against the equity in your account to lever your position (buying on margin).

I'm not aware of any institution that would lend money to be invested in capital markets.

If I recall correctly, it may be prohibited in fact. Not sure about that though. It's been awhile.

This is what caused the great stock market crash. It's called gambling with money you can't afford to lose. Phone Post 3.0

Look up the great depression for a nice example of why this is a bad idea. Phone Post 3.0

AG_bull - This is what caused the great stock market crash. It's called gambling with money you can't afford to lose. Phone Post 3.0

Truth. Margin call bitches!

You will have to outperform the interest after taxes. Good luck Phone Post 3.0

Don't some experts say the US market is overvalued by 40% as is?

Paying off high interest debt is always a sure way to make money.