Boxing and 'Self Defense'

I have some boxing experience but not much, and was wondering; how is straight boxing if you have to protect yourself? I've never been in a scrap since I started training. I am looking at some things to pass along to my kids and boxing is definitely top of my list right now. What are its strengths and weaknesses in a fight situation? What about teaching someone boxing and a little MMA (making the MMA boxing-heavy, basically)? I know the conditioning alone makes you a step ahead of a lot of people.

Stories of real fights where boxing is used are certainly welcome...

ttt

Learning how to take a punch is an important part of self defense.

Yeah no doubt. I have won fights with multiple opponents because of boxing exsperience.

Go ahead and share some stories!

If you don't freak out after getting hit and you actually know how to keep your hands up while snapping punches instead of arm punching with haymakers, you won't have a problem with 99% of possible streetfights.

The difference, and REASON, boxing is the best form of self-defense is because you actually FIGHT when you train. You hit and get hit. Compare this to practicing lethal death blows in slow-mo because they're 'too deadly' etc.

When you get to the stage where you can put another well trained, well conditioned boxer, whos expecting your punch, on his arse then flooring untrained people is pretty easy.

Yeah man I agree with that. The only fight I have been in since I started boxing felt like it was in slow mo.

When British legend Geoff Thompson was asked what was the best thing for self defence, his reply was "learn to hit fucking hard". Boxing gives you that better than anything.

TTT for more

The danger to you when using boxing as self defense comes with the fact that a persons skull is fairly hard and you could hurt your hand. Of course, when this happens, usually the adrenaline rush is so strong that you don't feel it until later.