Bruce Lee's concepts and SBG??

Hi all,

This is my first time on the JKD forum and I would like to have SBG people's opinions....I was reading a couple of my old Bruce Lee and JKD books today....stop-hits, trapping, Bruce's guard, etc....How much of what Bruce taught actually functions in fights you guys went through???? Bruce is known to choose trapping and straight blast when he is serious about finishing a fight...does it really apply??? I just love martial arts and mma....and only want to learn from your experience, no disrespect here friends....thanks for your help.....I hope I'm clear enough, since english is not my first language! thanks again.

I was always curious about the "when Bruce Lee was serious, he would always choose trapping/straight-blast" quote.

Didn't he move to more of a kick-boxing structure near the end of his life?

The only place where I've seen that straight blast quote was from Paul Vunak's camp - and Vunak was (and probably still is) a big advocate of the straight blast.

Welcome to the board.

Buy MAtt Thortons Funtional JKD Series. Itis an excellent series, cheap, and informative. You will have tons of info and not be dissapointed.

I was going through my video collection yesterday and was just thinking how because of the whole MMA structure (BJJ, wrestling and Muay Thai to the exclusion of everything else) a lot of good stuff is being ignored.

I have a different perspective from a lot of people because I started with Muay Thai so I don't have a big "realism" hangup. It was after two years of Muay Thai that I fell in with the JKD crowd. What kept me there was Bruce Lee's writings on footwork and timing.