Building a house tme

As title states about to lock into a contract to start building my first home any tips or help be appreciated rented for 2 years and currently still am, build should take 6-12 months

Are you married? If so, good luck with that shit.

Don't
Do
It.

If you do, make your budget 75% of what you have to spend so you will only wind up spending 110% of what you can afford

Just did it myself.  My buddy and I were the general contractors.  Not recommended for the weak of heart.  I've never done it myself.  He built his own house.  Saved about 150K by not paying some other schmuck to pretend that they care more about the workmanship than me.  Some tips below:

- Hired a designer to replace my wife for decisions on colours, tiles, cabinets, etc.  Best 4K I spent ever spent.  We ended up on non-speaking terms, but better her than my wife right?  She fucked up tile order and started blaming me for not giving her the dimensions properly.  I'm an engineer, I can add...  

- Don't trust anyone when they say "I'll build it like my own house."  I've been to a bunch of their homes and I'd punch them in the face if they did my house like their own.

- Them trades guys... they are not your friend.  You be nice to them and they will think they can slack off and not do as good a job as you expect.  If you want to thank them, get them a case of beer after everything is done... otherwise keep them on their toes.

- Roll up your sleeves and do some work.  Keep a clean site.  Make sure everyone keeps it clean.  Lead by example and pick up the trash too.  Lot of them don't care and the inside of your walls and ducts will be full of garbage.  I bought the best shopvac from home depot and vacuumed up every night - so every night for 8 months.

- Minor issues like a crooked stud, minor framing - fix it yourself.  You will waste a lot of time and effort trying to convince these guys that something is wrong - they are just avoiding have to redo the work.