Building muscle / cutting fat at 48 years old.

My dear OG bro scientists, I need your advice.

I'm 48 y/o and wanting to build muscle and cut some belly fat. I'm considering just doing calisthenics in the park for a month or two and then hit the gym again.

I'm not a newbie to fitness, but I haven't been exercising or working out for the last 5 years.

Recently, within the past 2 months I started eating better and not eating carbs at night. Here is a pic from this morning after working out:

http://imgur.com/a/VpfTd

I'm happy that I'm starting to see my abs again, but I know that calisthenics will not produce the same results as heavy weights.

I've accumulated a lot of injuries in my youth from a combination of hard living, MMA/BJJ for nearly 20 plus years, active duty military service for 4 years and injuries from lifting heavy previously (back from heavy squats and deadlifts).

I want to avoid injury at all cost.

Does anyone have recommendations for my age? Can I stick with calisthenics (pull ups, push up, dips, squats etc.) and get results? Would it be safer to just go this route?

Or, will I get better results in the gym and if so, is there a particular protocol I should consider--again, considering that I'm 48 and don't recover quickly anymore.

THrow some bro science at me please!

By the way...the pic is definitely me posing and getting the best angle. lol

I still have belly fat to cut.

Test you old fuck

First thing... You need to train your body 4 times a week. Why? Because you need to keep your joints and tendons strong... Less time working out each week is more downtime and an older body really needs to stay in motion. It's the best way to avoid injury. 

Supplement up. Creatine, BCAAs, Glutimine. That's it. Just those and that stuff is fairly cheap now. Get the kind in the white bag from amazon. Super popular and great reviews.