Building on a shaky foundation

I've been training in jiu-jitsu for about 3 years. After training for about 2.5 years, and trying a few different schools/instructors, I thought I was getting pretty good for a beginner. I had gotten my blue belt, and was doing well in sparring. I started to get burnt out on training and thought I'd take a short break. Well, that break turned into about 2 years off because I got lazy, and now I've started training again. I've been back for about 6 months, and I feel like maybe I was shitty even when I was training 2 years ago... The more I learn, the more I find out I don't know. I'm one of the bigger guys, at 205#, and I'm still having trouble with the smaller guys because of the basics. I've got a decent guard pass, and some other tools, but I feel like my basics aren't sound enough to apply anything I know. I'm constantly getting my guard passed and side mounted, and find myself having absolutely no tools to get out. Same with the mount. I've got like 2 escapes (attempts) from the mount that rarely work, and nothing from the side mount (which is extremely frustrating, and I sometimes try to muscle out...that's never the right answer).

In the 6 months I've been back, I've never seen the same technique twice. The instructor is an frikkin' encyclopedia of jiujitsu, and is extremely skilled, but I feel like I'm building on a shaky foundation.
The classes are large, and I only come 3 times a week, so it's tough to get any one-on-one time with the instructor to get my game in order. In class, the students are divided up into a whitebelt side and a colored belt side. Basic techniques are taught to the
whitebelts, and advanced techniques are taught to the colored belts. Since I have a blue belt (which I feel should be taken away at this point), I am training with the more advanced students during class, learning new and exciting techniques (but they're useless given my predicamenet of having shitty basics).