C-wheel Grd Pass in Old Judo Book

Before I say which Judo book I saw the cartwheel guard pass in, I want to let everyone know that I am aware of the intense Judo vs. BJJ rivalry that exists here. However, I am a student of both arts, so this post is not meant to favor either art, but simply as a historical reference.

The title of the book is "The Techniques of Judo" by Shinzo Takagaki & Harold E. Sharp. Copyright in Japan, 1957 by Charles E. Tuttle Company, Inc.

The cartwheel guard pass is on pages 98-99 at the top in numbered sequence from 21-24.

Other techniques which I was surprised to find were: 3 escapes from the arm triangle (pg. 110-111), knee on belly position (called uki-gatame: floating hold, pg. 122), and the guillotine choke from the guard w/out the arm in (pg. 126), as well as some other familiar guard passes, chokes and armlocks.

I just thought I would pass on this information for those of you who are collectors of old martial arts books, and others who are Judo and/or BJJ historians.

Showed that pass in that book to my BJJ instructor back in 1999. We both thought it was cool as hell.

Vital Judo by Okano is an AWESOME reference book. I got to borrow a copy from a friend, and was AMAZED at some of the techniques I saw in there.

I've got a copy of "Dynamic Judo - Grappling (green book)" 1967 by Kazuzo Kudo that shows the butterfly guard, star pass, omoplata etc..

Nothing new under the sun boys..

Bull in Chinashop:

I agree that most techs have probably already been invented and most likely forgotten, only to be "rediscovered" by someone later on. Although, I think that the new details and setups to these techs are what makes the difference.

Actually, I'd like to see some old footage of the Kosen Judo tapes that are out there, so if someone has access to these, please put up a video clip.

Hey bull_in_chinashop,

I'm waiting on a copy of the Kazuzo Kudo book to come from a rare bookseller in Canada. And waiting, and waiting, etc.