Changing Careers Into Tech/Programing

I know there are several guys on here that are in this field, and I’d like some advice on a clear path into possibly changing careers. 

Ive been dabbling with different languages(Python,SQL,HTML) on a free app on my phone. It’s basically just fundamentals and messing with examples in a code playground. I’ve looked into different fields such as security, cloud, data, and front end/full stack. I think I’m finally leaning toward front end because it seems to be the most creative of the fields. There is an online bootcamp that’s fairly affordable that I’m considering attending. My biggest drawback is wondering how the hell you land a job with no experience and no degree? I’m not changing careers to chase money, because I make decent money now. I’m hoping that once I get some experience, I’ll be able to work remotely in the future(no chance of that in the career I’m in now).

Anyone on here that went the self taught/bootcamp route and successfully landed a job with no experience? If I go the front end route, I will start learning HTML,CSS, and JavaScript to begin with. I haven’t completely dove in yet, so I’m wondering if this is a good path. Any help is appreciated. 

1 Like

Bump for the night crew. 

Look up popular UI frameworks like bootstrap, material and semantic. I would also look into typescript / JavaScript so you have an idea of how static markup integrates with object oriented code. Additionally, look into popular frameworks that combine these elements like angular, vue or react. 

Go to Udemy.com and take a course. The rating system is reliable. Good luck. 

2 Likes
TFK_HossPearson -

Look up popular UI frameworks like bootstrap, material and semantic. I would also look into typescript / JavaScript so you have an idea of how static markup integrates with object oriented code. Additionally, look into popular frameworks that combine these elements like angular, vue or react.