Chris n Kirik-striking the back of the head

FRAT-I like that you cant strike to the back of the head.

So I watched the Joe Rogan show with you two, and I thought it was awesome. I know a lot of negativity has circled here, but I personally enjoyed it and took zero offense.

You three discussed that you felt some confusion about why exactly strikes to the back of the head are illegal. Personally, I cannot tell you why or who developed this rule. BUT, I can say I personally believe its a good rule.

The back of the head-neck exposes the area of where the tip of the spinal cord develops into the brain stem. If you do not know, the brain stem is pretty much what connects your spine to your brain. And, unfortunately, it isn't protected very well at all. Pretty much the only thing that protects the brain stem/spine in that area is muscle and skin.

Now, Im no doctor, so if a doc here wishes to elaborate, please do. Their understanding of anatomy will be better than mine. But I can say, as a prehospital EMT, that's an area that's drilled into our brain to always check while assessing, especially when immobilizing patients (check for step off you assholes) I have personally ran on a four wheeler incident- guy was sitting on it, no helmet, accidently whisky throttled and fell off the back, with the back of his head landing perfectly on a large rock that snapped his brain stem. Its hard for us to know when we respond exactly what happened, but we begin to cpr and work the patient because hes pulseless and apneic...then feel the back of his head/neck and it feels like goo. The back of your head should never ever feel like warm jello.