Clinch Q for Sharp & Rory

Just been watching the Clinchin2 set and i have a couple of questions for Paul Sharp and Rory Singer.

My background is mostly western boxing and muay thai so it was great to get an insight into the fundamentals of the greco clinch. Obviously so many more options without the gloves.

Paul Sharp - I'm interested in your views of the double neck tie.

Why is it not used in wrestling?

Do you often use the double neck tie?
Do you find that your greco skills can easily shutdown this aspect of the thai clinch?

Rory Singer - you mentioned that you prefer to fight from the double neck tie.
Why?
Do you use it mainly as a platform to deliver knees to the body?

As a final note about the dvd set, its very good. Adam states at the beginning that its aimed at the beginner to intermediate, covering the fundamentals of the clinch game. I think it does that very well. One word of warning though, as it is a combination of seminar material and "to the camera" instruction, it doesnt flow as well as i hoped. Having said that, it has lots of great material.

And Happy New Year everyone

Interesting.

Melvin,

I am glad that you are enjoying the material. I prefer the thai clinch as it allows me to control my opponents head and therefore land knees to it. I also feel it is one of the few games that can be utilized against a good upper body clinch technician. It keeps my elbows in between myself and my opponent and makes for a good striking platform for knees and elbows.

Melvin,
DOuble neck tie is considered a stalling position in Wrestling and Judo.

Adam

hey thanks rory and adam

i would have replied sooner but was waiting for paul sharps response. maybe hes on holiday or just busy. does he visit the forum often?

very interesting comments anyway.

rory, are you going to spring camp? i really enjoyed your section on the dvd. hope to see you do more instructing in the future (on dvd i mean).

if you are going to camp, may i make a suggestion?