Clinching with Someone Bigger?

I just started training with this guy who's bigger than me and im finding it hard to get a decent takedown, (i'm 6ft and about 180 and hes 6"7 and 240)

Most of the time its easier to counter, or if i get a decent bodylock of some sort of head control then its not to bad, when i get to the ground its ok, its just getting there, any tips?

I was always taught that clinching someone taller was a bad idea unless you have a huge experience or strength advantage on him.

If a tall guy gets underhooks on you, all he has to do is straighten his back and squeeze to get you off your feet. And nobody pretend that you're so awesome that nobody ever gets underhooks on you. Taller guys also have the leverage to break free from underhooks or other disadvantageous clinches, too, by sprawling out with their longer legs.

You are shorter and lighter, so the advice about body locks and throws are good. Also you can shoot an outside single leg pick-up to keep the weight off you.

BTW- it is generally hard to take down 6'7" 240lb men.

actually, i find it easier to take down taller/heavier opponents. from the clinch, react to his movements (play defensive) and when the opportunity presents itself drop for a single or double. if you can get him off balance, trips are good as well.

Judo

I dominate everyone in the clinch

I used to train with a guy who was 330lbs, my height, but obviously much bigger and freaky strong. The only way I could take him down was with throws from the clinch. Shooting was a really bad idea.

the rev

theres a judo hip throw i love to do to bigger guys. push into em, they push back, bam they go down. i dunno what its called but i hold a wizzer and an elbow and sweep..

try spooning with him and see how he likes that

SINGLE LEG.

I would defeat Randy Couture in the clinch.

Keoni, can I have some of what you're on? It must be some really, REALLY good shit! ;)