Deadlift

I just started practicing the deadlift, upon the recommendation of a well known fitness expert, to help with back pain. It seems to be a tremendous lift for back and overall strength. I'm wondering if any of you deadlift on a regular basis, and if you have any tips/tricks or advice for a beginner, or any general observations.

Thanks!

Just pretend you are pulling on a board that has been nailed to the floor. Make sure to use your whole body, not just your back.

Thanks for the tips bodybuilder and inf0(?). I'm really just working on my form right now, trying to make sure I'm doing the lift right technically before I start adding significant weight.

I'm just working out at home right now, using instruction from Pavel Tsatsouline's book Power to the People, and short deadlift videos by "The Diesel Crew" and "EFS." I'm thinking it'd be a good idea to have an expert coach me once a week or so - I'm sure there are flaws in my form which another person could see and help me fix.

"I just started practicing the deadlift, upon the recommendation of a well known fitness expert, to help with back pain."

...to help with BACK PAIN?

wow

feet a little further than shoulder width.
start with ass low. bar close to your shins.
back straight. look straight ahead. shoulders back.
stand up like you are just coming up from the bottom of a squat.

here's me deadlifting
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8_XDNG-Hd2c

"shoulders back."

I have read that the shoulders should be over the bar. I know westside recomends them back but Mark Rippetoe (spelling) recomends them in front of the bar.

I have tried deadlifts both ways and the shoulders in front of the bar feels so much better than shoulders back. Shoulders back really wrecked my back while Mark Rippetoes suggestions have made my back strong.

"...to help with BACK PAIN?

wow"