deadlifts and squats

At the moment I lift weights twice a week and do squats one day and deadlifts another day. I do 5 x 5 deadlifts and 5 x 5 squats. I'm still relatively new to this so I don't use that much weight (250 in the deadlift and 200 in the squat). My question is as I progress and the weight increases will doing deadlifts and squats in the same week 5 x 5 be too much and how should I modify it?

Do squats for a month. Then do DL. Or do DL and front squats in the same week.

[quote]Leigh - no, doing them on different days is fine. 5x5 is a hard workout but a good one. just make sure you rest on those days in between[/quote] 

agreed

Wiggy - workout plans

Leigh - no, doing them on different days is fine. 5x5 is a hard workout but a good one. just make sure you rest on those days in between

i just started a 5x5 program where i;m going to be squatting 3 days a week. do you think that with the propper maintenance (sleep, diet etc) it would be unwise to train mma on the days in between? because that was my plan, lift m, w, f and train mma t, w, th

brendan shanahan -

i just started a 5x5 program where i;m going to be squatting 3 days a week. do you think that with the propper maintenance (sleep, diet etc) it would be unwise to train mma on the days in between? because that was my plan, lift m, w, f and train mma t, w, th
I'm assuming you're talking about the Starr/Pendlay 5x5 routine.  It's a great program but if you've got the #'s figured out correctly you're going to have a hard time using this program in conjunction with regular MMA training.  Weeks 3 and 4 I find to be partciularly brutal myself.  I'm not saying it can't be done, but using the program as is and training MMA regularly is a recipe for failure.

Try modifying the program by only lifting twice a week instead of 3.  Drop the 3rd workout entirely.  You'll be squatting twice up until you increase the intensity and the weight during week 5.  Then you'll drop the squat on your deadlift days.