Diff. powerClean technique.?

www.athletics.ucr.edu/strengthconditioning/powerclean.htm

http://www.athletics.ucr.edu/strengthconditioning/exercisemenu.html

Check out the videos. Different way of doing things.

damion,

Those aren't new ways to do power cleans. They are just "bad" ways of doing them.

I was an intern for the Strength and Conditioning staff at Denver University for about 4 months last year. And the many of the athletes did the O-lifts the same way.

They simply "exaggerate" certain aspects of the lifting motion.

It "looks" cool at first until you realize how much of "bad" technique it is. It wasted movement.

I remember at D.U how some of the athletes on one particular team would do powers cleans that way (with that exaggerate jump movement where they would do almost a buttkick to make their feet slam against the floor when they moved into the catch position) and because they were upperclassmen the rest of the team started to do it that way too.

The S&C staff and I would comment on how bad that technique was BUT we couldnt do much about it because they have been doing that way for so long and it was pretty much a habit for them.

But nonetheless it is still BAD technique.

Take it from me DO NOT learn how to do O-lifts from college athletes. Learn them from O-lift coaches and O-lifts competitors. Also watch O-lifts done by O-lift competitors like forum member Koing. The technique is 20 times better!

Yeah, I agree. Actually I wasn't thinking that was correct-just wanted input as it seemed like poor form.
Someone on here said they were taught to do a little jump with the lift.

You can tell from watching and what is written that they are pulling stuff out of their ass as far as technique and reason for it.

wow man that is some dodgy technique.  The 1st clip the guy has his back rounded and the jump part is insane.  Same with the 2nd clip with the jump.

But nice facilities though :D.