Do I have the wrong attitude?

I guess you guys are right.

Afterall if I took BJJ, I would expect to get my arm cranked.

I guess I was just a bit upset, because during the class we were doing cut kicks off a high roundhouse, and within the first 2 minutes, I got kicked twice in the private parts by that guy

-Tony

The respect for your opponents in the practice is important and the strikes are part of the game,but no full power in training, in a championship is diferent.
I think it is necesary jkd guy but step by step,take it easy the strikes, good training.

When i started training savate there were two different classes, one for beginners or for people who only wants to know the basic of boxe francaise (light contact) and one for fighters or "wannabe" fighters (full contact).
I think there's nothing wrong to learn only the style without being hit hard, it's a personal choice.
By the way in my first full contact training a guy broke my nose with a big punch, but i was prepared for that.

Claudio

Tony, I have to agree with everyone else here. But then again, I LOVE getting hit hard, it lets me know I'm alive.

If, God forbid, you ever have to defend yourself, you damn skippy better be used to taking a punch or a kick. My training partners and I hit each other fairly hard even during drills, and spar at maybe 60-70% or full power a few times a week. Obviously, if someone's got a fight coing up, the intensity goes up too.

You cannot learn Muay Thai without hitting and getting hit, just as you can't learn boxing that way. You will have an empty shell of an art that will only get you hurt if you try and use it for real. It is a little uncomfirtable at first, but you'll get used to it surprisingly quickly.

Good luck and good training!