enshin karate kyokushin karate

I really want to train in Kyokushin to compliment my bjj.However there are no kyokushin karate schools on Long Island where i live.Do you recommend Enshin which is available to me?

Yeah, from what I've seen of an Enshin instructional the founder is a Kyokushin guy. My buddy who does Seidokan (or something like that) told me that Kyokushin doesn't allow grabbing the gi at all, but Enshin and his style has some light grappling.

The katas in Enshin look interesting as well. They look more like you're fighting an invisible enemy than other karate katas I've seen.

I studied Enshin with Ninomiya (the systems founder for 6 or so years) I also studied Judo under him for almost 7 years.

Enshin Karate is actually based on Ashihara style Karate. Hideyuki Ashihara was Ninomiya's instructor. Ashihara himself was a student of Mas Oyama who is the founder of Kyokushinkai. So Enshin is a derivative of a derivative. In other words Enshin is derived from a style which itself derived from Kyokushin.

Ninomiya was a judo player before he got involved in Karate and even continued to practice it while he was studying Karate when he was still in high school. So Ninomiya's style has a strong judo influence. But it has only been very recent years Ninomiya has put more "judo" type throws and sweeps into his system. He started adding more Judo throws after he began teaching Judo once a week in 1998. His eldest son is also a Judo player. He, has been studying Karate under his father about 8 or so years and his individual style is heavily influenced by Judo. He was my Judo training partner for about two years.

It isn't just the Judo throws per se that is found in Enshin but more so variations of Judo throws which have been adapted to fit the kyokushinkai style of Karate. The ones who happen to do really well with these "judo-inspired" techniques are the ones who already have years of experience in Judo.

m.g.