Ever Get Travel Insurance???

I'm gonna be working and travelling throughout Asia for several months starting in January.

Prolly gonna do some scuba, hiking, outdoor activities etc....

Also, the crazy ass driving out there has always been a concern of mine.

Anyways, am thinking of getting Travellers Insurance.  I've never done so before so I'm not exactly sure how it works.

Like lets say I get hit by a bus or something and gotta be in a hospital for X amount of time.  Does the travellers insurance kick in and cover my medical bills in a foreign country?

Is it something that's tough to work out with the hospitals or does it make it waaaaay easier?  I think I heard of some horror storys where the hospitals either wont accept you or kick you out if you aren't able to pay.

Kinda wanna safeguard myself against that.

Anyways, any advice is appreciated as well as provider recomendations.

Much Thanks

-p

I only have gotten it through Jet Blue when I fly with them. It's pretty cheap to add on to your ticket. A friend owns a hotel in Costa Rica. A woman had to be evaced by helocopter. Bill he signed that her insurance paid was 15000. Worth getting.

In for my next trip to the Phills

Travel insurance is a must if you are going abroad or spending a decent chunk of $$$ on a trip in general.

The amount of coverage for medical coverage you get depends on the plan and the specific details within it. You'd typically want to get a package that has multiple types of medical coverage to make sure you have as much protection as possible.

In the scenario of getting hit by a bus and needing treatment at a hospital, to be fully protected you'd want to have an insurance plan that has medical treatment coverage, medical evacuation coverage, dental coverage (if you lose a tooth), coverage if you have a pre-existing condition, etc.