Ever start a business in a field you knew little to nothing about?

I’m a paralegal who knew someone who operated their own court reporting business. This person was going to show me the ropes to operating my own court reporting business and would allow me to use her contacts to get started. Just before I was about to register the business with the secretary of state, however, she decided she didnt want to be involved anymore and pulled all of her support. Pulling out at the last minute was a slap to the face, but I want this enough that I’m willing to continue on my own. The issue is, I’m concerned I’m going to be in way in over my head. ​I know some basic information, like who needs transcribing services, how to price the services, and how to advertise my services, but I still would need to collect court reporters. Is it a mistake to try to carry this on on my own, or has anyone else built a business they didnt know much about at first? What did you do to become more knowledgeable about that business?

Im tired of working for other people and want to create sometging of my own, but i feel lost on how to proceed. I feel stupid even making this thread because the obvious answer to me is “fuck no, whatre you thinking”, but I want to make a change and hope to be pointed in the right direction. Any insight would be appreciated

I did.

I have a fairly decent background in fixing things or working with my hands but was a restaurant manager for a while. I used a contact that I had from vendor I had used in the past and purchased a territory where I would service gaskets on refrigerating units, freezers, warming cabinets, or anything that had a seal on the door when it closed. That was my income while I built my primary business of doing the repairs on all the equipment in restaurants like ovens, fryers, electrical, or anything that could go wrong in a restaurant.