Examining Rulon Gardner

First off, I want to acknowledge that Gardner is a tremendous athlete and I am in NO WAY questioning his skill but (and you knew something negative was coming) I am a little disappointed with the way he won a spot on the Olympic Team.
Now my disappointment may very well be due to the fact that I'm new to watching Greco-Roman wrestling, and that's why I'd like to hear from folks who are more knowledgeable than I.

In his final victory in the Olympic trails, which aired this past Saturday on USA Network, he won in virtually the same fashion he did against Karelin.
This was due to his opponent breaking his grip and losing a point.
Now clearly that is part of the rules, and I know this, but it just seems like an anti-climactic way to win a match.

From my newbie point-of-view, it appears that Gardner employs a more defense-oriented strategy, which I have a bit of trouble appreciating the complexities of since I've never competed in G-R.

So my question for you good people is this: Do you like the way Rulon Gardner competes, and if so, why?

I'd love to hear from all of you, as it will help to educate me in the sport.

I'm not exactly an expert in greco, but...

I understand where you're coming from, and I agree with you to some extent. But mostly I "blame" the weight class rather than Gardner. Maybe I'm biased (former middle weight wrestler) but I've never really liked heavyweight wrestling... regardless of the style of wrestling.

Heavyweights do a lot of leaning on each other, and just making it a pushy-shovy match. The fact that Gardner does a lot of this just means he is the rule, rather than the exception in his weight class.
You'll notice that his opponent did basically the same thing, right?