Explain to me how the ACA will help the poor.

Im a full time college student. I live off of student loans at the moment and its quite easy because before I went back to school I payed off my house in full. Aside from tuition I live off of about 500 dollars a month. It is a very spartan lifestyle but I am fine with it. I dont have cable/use a prepaid phone ect.

I am young and healthy at the moment. It costs me 160 dollars max a year to see my doctor for check ups/antibiotics on the off chance I get sick enough to need them.

If I got in an accident or very sick my county offers a gold card with outstanding life saving care free of charge. Medicaid is also available in the off chance of a calamity. On top of this there are several religious based hospital programs such as sisters of mercy ect.

I was finally able to compare plans on the ACA website and the cheapest plan (which is an absolutely horrible plan) is 315 dollars a month.

There is no way in hell I will ever pay this.

And beyond that even if we do develop cancer or some other horribly expensive medical issues in the future, we just start paying for insurance then. Why pay for what we don't need. Phone Post

alkysmurf - 

And beyond that even if we do develop cancer or some other horribly expensive medical issues in the future, we just start paying for insurance then. Why pay for what we don't need. Phone Post

There are local government safety nets set up for people who develop cancer and cant afford life saving care. On top of that there are charity based organizations like sisters of mercy who operate on money that is given willfully given out of kindness, as opposed to stolen in the form of a tax.

I just dont get why liberals are champions of the ACA. It is not going to help the poor.

You young people are paying for the elderly under Obumercare.