Fight Factory interview Rus Jones

The Fight Factory will be hosting a Kickboxing and Mixed Martial Arts event at the Lamar Dixson Expo center on June 26th.  Doors open at 5 and fights start at 6. The Fight Factory caught up with Russell Jones for this interview.

FF: Russell thanks for taking the time out of your training schedule to be here.

RJ: It's my pleasure

FF: Tell me a little about yourself?

RJ: I've been fighting for 21 years. I turned pro in 1983 and since have become a 3 time world kickboxing champion. I am originally from New Orleans, but I've lived in Baton Rouge for the past 25 years. This will be my first time competing under Muay Thai rules in 15 years. I have mainly been competing under American rules for the last 23 years. I currently hold a record of 77 wins 4 losses. I began training when I was 14 in traditional Japanese Jiu-Jitsu and Judo. I stopped training in traditional martial arts to begin competing in full contact event. I felt that the traditional point system didn't really teach you to fight. I am currently training under Raul Lopez. Raul is from Cuba, and came to United States in 1992 to escapee Castro's regime. He is the current 137lbs world champion, and holds all 5 major kickboxing titles. (ISKA, IKF, WKA, WKO, and the KICK belt).

FF: I understand there is some friction between you and your opponent Dustin Johnson. Can you elaborate this?