First Time Competing

Next Sunday I am competing in my first tournament. I'm  a little nervous and have no idea what to expect.

A little background 

i started training at 26 at Underground Jiu Jitsu in South Florida with Marcelo Garcia black belts John Davis and Leo Kirby. I trained there for over about a year and a half 5-6 times a week and before I received my blue belt.  I moved oversees for a post grad program, met my wife, had kids, and before I knew it I had taken 4 years off. I have been back training 3-4 nights a week at an awesome school for the last year.

My coach asked me how I felt about competing so I signed up. It's something I would like to do and have never done before....but I'm a little nervous.

Masters Blue Belt 210LBS and over.

and 

Absolute division is what I signed up for.

I have no doubt that my Jiu Jitsu is top notch. I train with a bunch of animals.... I'm just nervous and don't want nerves to screw me up.

Trust in your abilities and accept the fact that the results are beyond your control. You only control how hard you fight for every point. Competition is nerve wracking and you'll go through a myriad of emotions leading up to your matches. That's a part of the process, you're not alone. That dude with the thick neck, cauliflower ears doing jumping jacks and sprawls with his headphones on is also nervous. Lastly, warm up thoroughly before your first match!

You think you're big time?! You're gonna fuckin DIE big time!!

As long as weight is on point you shouldn't have much to stress off.

There's gonna be six other mathces going on at the same time as yours so you shouldn't feel like all eyes are on you.

As long as you've been doing competition rounds in the gym with killers you shouldn't worry about gassing. Just warm up proper

Take a swig of water just before you step out to combat cottonmouth from nerves

Remember that it ain't the gym, guys are going to try to hurt you so fuck keeping it playful