? for Matt

Matt are there any guys out there in the Realty Based Self Defense world whose material you like. I have seen a lot of wanna be ninjas out there. I really like Luis's ISR-PM material. Would you mind dropping a few names of any one else in the RBSD circles that you think thier material might be worth checking out?

Thanks,
Shane

Shane, I would stick with the ISR material. In terms of self defense training, it is probably the only RBSD type training curriculum I have found that is taught with Aliveness from day one. It was put together by someone who knows the delivery systems of stand up, clinch, and ground (Luis is a BJJ black belt). And it is healthy.

Regarding defense against bladed weapons, I have never seen anything which approaches the functionality of the STAB program. Not even close.

Why is this subject of interest to you?

Thanks Matt for your reply. I have also seen Karl's material and like it as well. I have some Greco in my background and I have played with the two-on-one for knife control much like Karl.

My interest in training for self-defense has grown over the last few years as my ability to be competitive has diminished. I am riddled from injuries. I have been involved in combat sports since I was a kid. My problem was that I almost always trained all out and rarley did I take time to fully recover after injuries.So, a lot of my motivation is preparing for a different type of challange(one in wich I hope I never have to face). I still go train at a couple of MMA gyms where there are a few guys I trust to spar with.