Fretless Guitar Shredding

I don't know if it's music, but the guy is an amazing machine. And fretless. I just wanted something noisy after all the classical guitar videos I posted....

But then, maybe I need something else altogether. Like somebody playing pretty piano music or something!

BTW, anybody have any comments on right hand picking technique? This guy obviously does very well; NO wrist at all... entirely moving from the elbow. Is that weird? I don't get picking (plectrum) technique.

Wow, I haven't heard sounds like that since I spilled Kool Aid on my Speak-n-Spell when I was 7.

I don't get picking (plectrum) technique.

maybe he was self taught and just played that way anywho its a pretty cool vid Racer, can you take the frets off of my guitar? j/k

I helped a friend convert his Ovation solidbody to fretless.

Somehow when he played, it didn't sound like this. It sounded like music. What the hell is that guy doing? If he was doing that in a store I was in I would ask him to stop.

The real stinker is trying to chord on a fretless guitar.

"If he was doing that in a store I was in I would ask him to stop"

I thought that was you RX, whoops!

"BTW, anybody have any comments on right hand picking technique"

Thats actually a relly easy technique to learn and a tough one to
master. The official name is the Chronibater Control, its also know as
jerkin the gherkin.

LOL

Sometimes he does make music... but there's not a lot of evidence of that on youtube. That guy is Scott McGill; has various projects, most notably McGill-Manring-Stevens, with equally sick bassist Michael Manring. He's not self-taught, either (or at least not entirely) -- university of texas jazz program guy, if IIRC. He has lessons on his site where he said all movement is from the elbow.... I didn't believe him. Thought he was badly describing something else. But now I see... he's for real about that.