Getting My Accounting Degree This Summer AMA, TME

I'm completing my degree this summer (currently lack 24 credit hours). When should I look for a job, how do I network, what kind of pay can I expect? Also, if anyone has any questions fire away

You going after a CPA?  Can't go wrong.

AlphaSlap - 

Yup! And likely a CFE, as well. I'm hoping to find an employer that will pay for the test prep materials

I'm a CPA with a small practice and had several different type of accounting jobs.

Getting your first job is hard since no one wants an accountant without experience.

There are three main types of accounting jobs...

Tax
Audit
Financial

Working in tax a first year person at a small firm is an assistant 35k after two years become a staff accountant 45-50k senior 65k get a CPA become a manager 85k max out maybe 90k at a small to mid size firm. Long hours okay pay some extra vacation time in the off season but you will be working 8am to 8pm from January to April 6 days a week.

Audit there is a lot of travel need to start out as an intern long hours all year long at least 10 a day five days a week. Pay is about 30k for intern/assistant, 50k associate, Sr associate after a couple years 60k, supervisor 80k, audit manager 100k, Sr manager 140k.

Financial is the best such as a internal controller at a company but you need to be an auditor at some point controllers can make 100-200k depending on the size of the company. Stable hours maybe 40-45 a week pretty cush.

Accounting is a very stable job but you work with a lot of asshole type A people with no lives who will work all day and night and you have to do it too to keep up. Everyone throws everyone under the bus and politics are huge believe it or not. This is why I started my own practice.

Good luck! Phone Post 3.0

First job in the industry after my accounting degree was auditing in a small practice.