Getting out of a Slump

Ive been doing jiu-jitsu for 6 months, and I was doing real well, and learning alot of technique. but the last two weeks, ive been in a terrible slump, my game fells really loose, and im having trouble with really basic stuff. The guys ive been tapping easy, are owning me, and the blues and purples have even started to notice my game is going down the toilet.

I think part of it, is im starting to get an ego now, I got first place in my first two tourneys, and I got 2 stripes, so now I feel like I have to prove that my game is better. even though 2 stripes aint shit. I defenitly need to adjust my attitude, but I dont think thats the only reason my game is doing bad...

Does anyone have advice? I really need it.

Just keep training-slumps are common and are usually followed by a big step forward.

It might be that the guys you are training with are just getting better, or have adapted to your game. If you were tapping them easily in the past, then they have probably learnt from that experience and developed a defence to it.

its a divine signal to fork out some cash on the latest DVD instructionals...

I think the ego and need to prove yourself are the problem.

Let go of this "who taps who" value system and just TRAIN. Every day when you get on the mats, it's not about winning, it's about IMPROVING.

My personal "fundamental 3" for BJJ:

1. Smile

2. Relax

3. Don't stop moving, in particular your hips.

My personal "fundamental 3" for dating:
1. Smile

1. Relax

2. Don't stop moving, in particular your hips.

Give up the Gi man its holding you back. ;)

I second the fact that your training partners have learned your game. I used to twister everybody when I first started doing it, now people know how to avoid the most common setup. That's why you have to come up with new methods to get to your best moves. Keep inventing, watch some videos or more advanced guys roll for ideas.

Hey, that dating thing is pretty cool :)