Great finance books

I am new to the world of finance, what are some of the great books?

Wow, there are alot of Detroit people on the OG.

Figure out what you want to know, first. Is it investing? How the equities markets work? Cost of Capital? basic time value of money?

After that, you can look for the right book(s).

On a side note, after 6pm tonight, I will be willing to sell you my textbook from my Corporate Finance course. A deal at a mere $100. I paid $140.

Ok, ok, i'd be willing to let it go to a Detroit brotha for $95.

Mark

tower1 that is what I am looking for. books that people who do this shit for a living call the bible. I am coming from computers and I can name a bible that everyone should own for just about every area of computing, and I am sure its got to be the same for finance.

It's like Mark1 said, you've gotta figure out the area that you want to be in. Just like you can name the "bible" for every area of computing, and there's no one bible for "computing", it's the same in finance.

If you want to get the feel for trading, a book like Reminessence of a stock operator (I know I spelled it wrong) by Lefevre is probably the best.

If you want stuff on real estate as an investment, ask Iceberg Slim.

If you want to learn the "nuts and bolts" of finance, grab a textbook that your local university uses for finance courses (of course, these are dry and boring).

The first task, though, is to figure out what you want to read about first. Then the forum can lead you to your bible. :)

Thanks for the recommendation, tower1, I will have to check that out.

I will give you the two "bibles" of stocks when I get home.

Mark

I appricate that there is no one book that covers all of finance. I will rephrase my question: what is your area of finance, and what is the best book you ever read about it?

Mark1 where are you away at

analysis for financial management - Robert Higgins... a great intro to corp finance!