guillotine question

I am a novice bjjer and I always finish the guillotine by putting my forarm under the chin, grabbing that arm's hand with my other hand, cranking, and wrapping my legs around my opponany to create leverage.

What is the difference between finishing the choke with one of the opponant's arms "in" rather than how I do it? I have seen it done successfully even with the opponant's arm "in", but I don't know the difference. Are the 2 chokes just the same in different circumstances? Is one preferable, easier etc? Please give me the full analysis, as I have often wondered this.

Thxs

where can I sign? Are there any disadvantages to no arm in? Are there any advantages to having the arm in, like transitions if the guy/gal escapes etc.?

It's much harder to get it if their arm is in.

Arm in, should not work against a skilled guy. If the arm is in you lose compete control of one side of the neck.. thus making it a pretty inaffective choke if properly defended...actually i think that goes for all guillotine chokes. not to say you wont catch guys with them but i think your time could be better spent learning techniques that you havent known since middle school.. also there are better techniques for the quillotine than the one you described... try posting the hand of the arm that isnt doing the choking on your apponents shoulder. Then grab the wrist of that arm with the hand of the choking arm and put a slight crank on the neck away from the posted arm... pretty nast if done right.

Coccarecco (sp?) beat a couple of guys in ADCC 2004 using the "arm in" version. He beat some badass BJJ guys. How come he pulled it off if it's easy to defend?

-William

"Coccarecco "

Enricco Cocco? That 15/16 year old kid?

The arm in can be just as effective as the straight guillotine if you know how to apply it.

Who was the last person Bas subbed in a match and what year was it?