Hamilton

I’m finally getting to watch this on Disney + and it’s kinda terrible. I’m having trouble following and not a single song is memorable. It feels like Get Out...a b-grade movie that was celebrated because the director/writer or whatever was black. 

Im not white and I’ve seen probably 50+ shows on Broadway and even more theater in various cities around the world. I’m not an expert or anything but I think I know a good show. This is kinda shit. Anyone else feel the same way?

1 Like

Agreed.

I sat in the fourth row and was underwhelmed by it.

Only reason I went is because the chick I went with wanted to go and she is hot.

1 Like

i found myself at hamilton twice. i went with a school group for my step daughter and then my wife also wanted to go check it out. i mostly looked at the cool architecture in the theater the second time.

i'm 100% not the guy for broadway type stuff, so i figured i just didn't get it.

so, i'm with you on hamilton.

i thought get out was pretty good. 

1 Like

A lady at work played the soundtrack and raved about how awesome it was. I think I heard one song that was slightly good, but beyond that it seemed way overhyped. The music in The Book of Mormon blows it away.

I don’t get it. Cultural appropriation is alive and well but Hamilton is played by a latino qnd there are tons of POC in the cast, presumably, portraying white people. 

Also, did he have anything at all to do with slavery or was he assumed to be racist? If so, why isn’t this cancelled? 

Edit: my wife just put it on. Laugh out loud! Let’s see how it is. 

So far it seems like something the freshman at a peforming arts school would compose. Awesome if it were a bunch of 14 year olds, but would never think it were Broadway worthy. 

Ok, the only good part so far was King George, who is played by a legit Broadway dude. LMM has no stage presence, and a weak voice.