Head Kick Defense?

What is the best (most proper) method of defending against the head kick? With me standing orthodox and the kick coming from either side.

I've been taught to raise your hand from your normal guard position (hands at your face around cheek\eye socket) in a sliding motion to where the hand is above and slightly behind your ear with the elbow pointed slightly away from your body. The hand should be pressed against your head for bracing. Creates sort've a triangle with the upper and lower part of the arm that should completely cover the neck and head area. Immediately after blocking a kick return to normal guard as your ribs are now screaming "KICK ME" to your opponent.

I'm no expert, weigh differing opinions accordingly!!

There are SO many things you could do as defense, I'll name some of them...

EVASION:

1. Skip back out of the kicks way.

2. Lean backwards so that the kick passes just over your head.

3. Duck (be careful with this one!)

BLOCK:

The "three point defense" is best. With shoulders high, keep both arms in tight to your body. The arm on the side thats getting kicked should be glued tight to your body, the opposite arm slaps down on the incoming kick (slap down near the knee). The kick will connect on three points at the same time (if done correctly): upper arm, forearm, and the arm that's slapping down.

You should take a step AWAY from the kick as it comes in to help absorb the blow. When I say step away, I don't mean step back. If you're getting kicked on your left, you take a step to your right. You'd be amazed at how much power you can take off of a kick by stepping sideways.