Help with Masculinity Research

Hi, I am doing some qualitative research into MMA fighters, and their constructions of masculinity.

My problem is that i have never done any research before, and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions what kind of questions i should ask to find out about their constructions of masculinity? or masculinity in general.

Thanks very much.

BigBash, what class is this for? I'm guessing it's for a Sociology class, but is it a research methods or gender class? If I know this I could probably help you out a bit more.

I'm currently doing my MA in Sociology, and I just got hired in the Women's Studies department, and my main contact in the Women's Studies department almost exclusively works with masculinity and its constructions... I don't know what your exact take on gender/masculinty is or what your skill level is, but if you give me a bit of feel of what you're going for I can most likely direct you to some articles or other materials.

thanks for the reply. i am a third year socioloy undergrad. The research is actuallly for my dissertation.

I am looking at wether MMA is a solution to the crisis of masculinity, and wether the participants of MMA are really as hypermasculine as one would assume. Its my experience that alot of fighters started training because they were being bullied/it gave them more confidence etc.

thanks once again.

Hmmm... interesting.

Now I've got a couple of questions based on your reply:

1) Are you saying that MMA "solves" the crisis of masculinity (that is, MMA redeploys a new male model of [hyper] masculinty to be re-inserted in the gender system that re-establishes the gender binary), or are you saying that it "solves" the crisis by shattering or deconstructing the traditional gender system?