History Masters

A quick question regarding obtaining ones master's degree (or furthermore, a PHD) in history. Has anyone here done this? And if so, are you teaching now, or are you working in an unrelated field? Just bouncing a few ideas around, and wouldn't mind some feedback... Thanks.

I think IBI just got his, in Europe.

I recently got my MPhil in Ancient History. I'm currently waiting for my supervisor to get back from his study leave so that I can start my PhD (with the aim of lecturing afterwards). In the meanwhile I'm doing various freelance writing and editing work.

I have an MA in Church History, and another MA and a PhD in Renaissance/Reformation History. I am currently a college professor. Do you have a specific question about job prospects (in a word, they stink), or are you looking for other options with the degree (there are more than you think), or are you taking a poll? Feel free to e-mail me if you'd like to discuss any of this: sunshineg@ccsu.edu or glsunshine@wwdb.org.

Yours,
Glenn

Glen,

Out of idle curiosity, were your two Masters research degrees or taught degrees? Just wondering, because almost everyone I know chose to do a taught one. I've never really understood why. Doing a degree that was completely research based was heaven! No lessons, no exams, no having to hand in essays every week. You just have to write a 50,000 word thesis within a year. Basically, you get a degree for simply writing a book about something you love (which was presumably the same for your PhD, though I appreciate that you had to work to a higher and more rigid level).