Home dumbbell workout

I bought some more hex dumbbells and started doing my leg workout at home tonight (been doing upper body at home for a while now). I've never done dumbbell squats before, and they just didn't feel like they were working even close to the way back squats or even presses/extensions do.

The highest dumbbells I've got are 40s ... I know it isn't much but I'm still a beginner, and 80 lbs on a barbell back squat would be more than enough me for 12 reps ass-to-heels. But with the dumbbells, it feels like the main thing getting the workout is my grip.

Any idea what I might be doing wrong to account for the discrepancy, or are dumbbell squats just not as effective an exercise? When I do, say, the shootfighters in Scrapper's stuff, my legs feel like noodles afterwards, but I'm barely feeling the dumbbell stuff at all.

Would dumbbell step-ups be a good substitute for squats, and if so, how high up should I be stepping?

Thanks in advance.

Did you see the photos I had of Egan doing some dumbbell stuff? Egan Training PicsSCRAP

First of all, you can squat more than 80 pounds.

Second, what are you trying to do?

Third, try split squats. Set up in a lunge-type position, but elevate the rear leg by putting your foot up on a bench or something. Hold the DBs at your side and squat.

Hey Ryno do you feel that split squats work more muscle groups then lunges, I know both movements are very close. I'm thinking about split squats because usually when I do squats, I do lunges right after.

So driver if I hijacked your thread.

Probably not many.. but if you've been doing lunges for a while, try Split Squats. They're awesome.. one of my favorites.

Doing split squats with your working leg on a dyna-disc or something similar is a great way to learn to recruit your VMO. Poliquin is big on this. Hell, even w/o the disc.. the VMO is very involved.